Co-hosting organizations' logosChicago Mayoral Candidates Forum:
Violence against women and LGBTQ people

Moderated by WBEZ's Alison Cuddy

Co-hosted by CFW and Center on Halsted, Chicago Alliance Against Sexual Exploitation, Chicago Metropolitan Battered Women's Network and Rape Victim Advocates

Tuesday, February 15, 2011
6-7:30 p.m. (doors open at 5:30)
7:30-8 p.m. Reception for candidates and public
Chicago-Kent College of Law
565 W. Adams St.

NO REGISTRATION REQUIRED. This event is free and open to the public.

This is a non-partisan forum. The sponsoring organizations--Chicago Foundation for Women, Center on Halsted, Chicago Alliance Against Sexual ExploitationChicago Metropolitan Battered Women's Network and Rape Victim Advocates--DO NOT support or oppose any candidate for public office. 

About the Candidates Forum
At this public forum, all current candidates for Mayor of Chicago are invited to answer questions about violence against women, girls and LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer/questioning) people. Domestic violence, sexual assault, trafficking, prostitution and hate crimes are important issues for candidates because they intersect with the policies and practices of municipal systems such as public education, law enforcement and government funding. Questions will be gathered in advance from the constituencies of the hosting organizations listed above; live questions will not be taken from the audience. To submit a question for the mayoral candidates, please email by Tuesday, February 1.

The moderator will be Alison Cuddy, host of WBEZ's Eight Forty-Eight. Audience members will have the chance to meet candidates and enjoy appetizers at a free reception following the forum, courtesy of Chicago Foundation for Women.

All candidates currently in good standing have been invited. In ballot order: Rahm Emanuel, Miguel Del Valle, Carol Moseley Braun, Gery J. Chico, Patricia Van Pelt Watkins and William Walls, III. UPDATE: Tyrone Carter, Frederick K. White and Howard Ray will no longer appear on the ballot.

Candidates who have confirmed they will attend, as of February 7, are Miguel del Valle, Carol Moseley Braun, Patricia Van Pelt Watkins and William Walls, III. Candidates who have not yet committed to attend are Rahm Emanuel and Gery J. Chico.

Press Contact
Laura Fletcher, communications manager at Chicago Foundation for Women, and (312) 577-2824.

Chicago-Kent College of Law is wheelchair accessible, and an ASL interpreter will be provided onstage. If you have any other accessibility questions or requests, please contact by February 8, 2011.